Sign up for Issues Report

Watch Control Growth Now's July 28, 2020 annual meeting, with our endorsed candidates in the August 18 elections and Citizen of the Year Bill Cantrell.  YouTube link.

Save Sarasota County

   For more than 30 years, Control Growth Now

has attempted to protect and enhance

all that makes Sarasota County a

special place to live, work and visit.

   Together, we endeavor to balance the big developers who use their largess with politicians to gain at the expense of our mobility, neighborhoods, environment, schools and quality of life. We work to control development in a way that is responsible and to make growth pay its own way rather than placing the costs of growth on the backs of the taxpaying public.

   We also seek integrity in our elected officials, by calling out breaches of the public trust and supporting ethical candidates who seek to serve you, not just the special few.

   Join us today in striving for a better tomorrow, for ourselves and for generations yet to come. 

   Join Control Growth Now, attend our events if you can, and do your part for a better tomorrow.

   It's too important not to care.                        


County Commission: 

District 1 Republican primary: Mike Hutchinson (against Mike Moran)

District 3 general election: Cory Hutchinson (D against Detert)

District 5 general election: Alice White (D against Ron Cutsinger or Chris Hanks)



Republican primary (open to all voters because no general election candidate: Paul Fern (against Kurt Hoffman)

State Attorney:

Republican primary: Lisa Chittaro


County Charter Review Board: 

District 1 general election: Krista Lohr (D against Kennedy Legler)

District 1 2-year term Republican primary:  Alexandra Coe (against Samantha Medred)

District 2 Republican primary: Lourdes Ramirez (against Jody Hudgins, Ray Collins and Vic Rohe)

(No recommendations yet in the general elections for Districts 3, 4 and 5)


School Board: 

District 2: David Graham against Karen Rose

District 3: Tom Edwards against Eric Robinson


City of Sarasota Commissioner:

District One: Willie Shaw (against Kyle Battie)

District Two: Terry Turner (against Liz Alpert, Joe Barbetta, Martin Hyde, Don Patterson and Jerry Wells)

District Three: Rob Grant (against Erik Arroyo and Daniel Clermont)


City of Venice Council Member: 

Seat 1: Mitzie Fiedler (no opponent yet, but filing still open)

Seat 2: Brian Kelly (against William Willson, filing still open)


City of North Port Commissioner:


Seat 2:  Cheryl Cook (against Barbara Langdon and Jacqueline Moore)


Control Growth Now Candidate Endorsements

Control Growth Now, Inc., PO Box 277, Osprey, FL 34229-0277    Phone: (941) 955-5622

© 2020 Control Growth Now, Sarasota, Florida